Day 3. All In

February 24, 2011

Fyi…On another window I’m taking online traffic school from a red light ticket that I got out here when I was visiting in October. It’s as bad as you imagine.

I’ve been realizing that I can’t have one foot in LA and one in Springfield and pull this off. This may seem obvious, but I tend to only process things while going through them, and I have only started processing this concept now, when it is upon me. I was consumed with final shows and getting everything done in Springfield up until the point I left, then I was consumed with the road trip out here, and so far out here, it’s mostly felt like I’m visiting.

But the truth is, I’m out here to really give it a shot, and somehow that is only now becoming experientially apparent to me now. I have to go all in. Admittedly, this is difficult when Michelle is 1,700 miles away (Thank you to the iPhone 4 for face chatting, although it’s not quite the same). But, the great thing about Michelle is that she is encouraging me along the way, plus she’s extra pretty. I guess I’m ramping up to all in.

I went to Starbucks today, which was crazy busy. I overheard two guys writing a screenplay. Actually, I’m fairly certain that the whole place heard them. “And then you’ll be left fighting the demons” was my favorite line. Plus, there are just a lot of well dressed attractive people. I also went on a bike ride with my friend, Ross, for what turned out to be 18 miles. It was actually really good to see around some of the city and realize that I can get places by bike. It was very freeing, because up until this point I’ve been very concerned with parking and not knowing the rules and paying a fortune for it. So the bike ride felt like hope a little bit.

Tomorrow I’m going to meet with a contact I made in Springfield for coffee (smoothie) and go to watch stand up in the evening. Saturday I’m going to be able to hopefully watch the taping of the season finale of one of my favorite sitcoms.

Thing’s I’ve learned about myself so far:

-I’m great at spotting celebrities. However, I think every thin person with big sunglasses and a baseball cap is a celebrity.

-I let doubt play too big of a role in my mind.

-I like security when I don’t have it and crave adventure when I do.

-I can keep a room clean for two days.

-I don’t like proving myself. I prefer it when people know me already.

I’ll update this list as I go. Back to traffic school. Only 6 hours left.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 3. All In

  1. Jamie Cantrell

    Thanks for giving us the opportunity to keep up with how you’re doing. I admire both you and Michelle for stepping out in faith in such a bold way. I wish you well and will be praying for both of you.

  2. Oooohhh maybe they were writing for Supernatural, I’m LOVING that show right now 😉 Keep up the good work, blog is great. You rock 😉

  3. You’re so brave! 🙂 Good luck on your meeting. Watching a sitcom sounds awesome.

Leave a Reply

