Day 11. Affirmation Points

Friday, March 4, 2011

Sometimes you just need to talk to your mom. I just got off the phone with her. The thing with moms is that they’ve been your biggest fan since before you arrived. They were once proud of you for just burping. Even though I’m in a new place and my confidence is fairly frail, I know my mom thinks I’m the best. She’s not biased, right? 

I like to look at my time here as sort of like graduate school. I am done with my college work and now I’m putting in the time learning about how to do what I really want to do. So, in that sense it is like college, however, this graduate school I’m attending has no curriculum, no teachers, no administration, just other students. The teacher to student ratio is 0-1 million.

So, today I went for a run in Runyon Canyon, but I run I mean walk, because it was super steep. If you’re walking outside and want to make it sound better though, you just say you were hiking. I went for a hike in Runyon Canyon.

Then I had coffee with a guy who is a friend of my friend, Shawn. He was a super nice guy (paid for my tea. Coffee=yuck). Sidenote: They had Askinosie Chocolate bars for sale. Yeah, Springfield! Bob is a writer and it was nice hearing his thoughts on things. I told him a film idea I have and he actually thought it sounded good. Some rare and nice affirmation (I’m going to start assigning affirmation points to things. That was worth 2 affirmation points. Once I reach 20, I can turn them in for a slap bracelet). I also talked to him about my idea that I would like to figure out a way to continue The Mystery Hour while I’m out here. I may just start trying it and seeing where it leads. It would be a great way to meet people (2 more affirmation points).

Following that I went to the Paramount Lot and dropped off my headshot to the casting directors I had met. That was brief and exciting. ( 1 aff pt.). I was carrying a a leather bound notebook, which made me look like I knew what I was doing. I didn’t want to just leave, so I decided I would just walk briskly like I knew where I was going so I could see things. All I really saw was the Asian guy from GLEE who is a good dancer.

I finally did my first open mic night at a bar in the basement of a hotel. The audience was literally 100% other comics who were waiting to go up. That means it was a tough room, but I felt like I held my own (.5 aff pt.). There is a little community of comics here, most of them know each other from going up at open mics all the time. They were all pretty polished. I stayed the whole time, but I had not had dinner so I was crashing toward the end. Also, I have reached my limit of hearing masturbation jokes for the decade.

Michelle is at the True/False Film Festival right now, which is a documentary film fest held in Columbia. It is my favorite weekend of the year, but, alas, I have to miss it. This is tough for me, and difficult for Michelle not having me there. It will be less than a week until she’s here though. For ten days! We can do this.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 11. Affirmation Points

  1. I love this blog.
    I love you and Michelle.
    I love that you are following your dreams.

    Affirmation points x3.

  2. Jeff, you’re an inspiration to me and others by stepping out and chasing your dream. No matter what may happen, you’ve already won and you’ll be a great example to your future children.

Leave a Reply

