Day 26. Like a Different Country

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Three things that I love: My wife, historic buildings, and people that are different from me. Today, those three things came together in a fantastic way. I really like big cities and their historic downtowns. Love ’em. I thought that LA didn’t have that. It turns out they do. What is great about it is that it’s not in great shape. There are all these old theaters and buildings and they are run down. A run down old building is just as good as a renovated one in my book.

LA has a fashion district downtown that turns out to be a mass of small shops selling knock off purses, $5.00 sunglasses, bras, and anything else you can imagine. Go ahead. Think of something…yep…they have that.

In Santee Alley it is only stores, and it really is an alley, and it is shoulder to shoulder with people. Look at that picture. At one point I said to Michelle, “I think we’re the only caucasian as far as the eye can see.” And, it was true. I think it’s good for caucasians to feel like the minority sometimes. Plus, it was rare to hear someone speaking English. It really felt like we were in a different country.

Michelle will leave on Monday, which will be very sad. I’ll get back to working on things at that point.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

