Day 28. The Striving and the Rooting

Monday, March 21, 2011

I’m reading a book on writing screenplays right now. At the heart of all screenplays is story. A screenplay has to have a good story. You have to have a main character that is relatable and you have show who they are and what their life is like. Then, as a writer, you have to shake up their life in a meaningful way, and create their journey to try to get life back to normal as they encounter new and different obstacles along the way. As a viewer, you have to see the character striving for things. As we watch, we pull for them more with each new struggle. Good stories have points in them where the protagonist seems stuck and the story seems done. In those times, we root for them all the more not to give up. There has to be risk, there has to be reward, and in the end, we desperately want them to win. But, the protagonist, in the middle of the story, has no idea how it is going to turn out.

This morning Michelle had to leave. She was here for nine days and we had a great time. We like being together, you know, like a married couple does. We were laying in bed and slowly rising when she checked her e-mail. She had gotten a response about health insurance back. See, I went on her health insurance right after mine ended for the downtime between when I left my job and when I was hopefully able to get individual insurance on my own. This was only meant as a stop gap measure, knowing we could not sustain it for very long because it’s a few hundred dollars a month. As I shared on this blog, I was ecstatic to learn that I got individual health insurance at the standard rate, despite my asthma and allergies. Great, right?

This morning, we learned that I cannot go off her insurance until July. My individual insurance is supposed to start April 1st. So, worst case scenario, I can’t push my start time back on my individual insurance and we’re paying for two insurance policies, when we can barely afford the cheaper one. Next worst case scenario, I’m on Michelle’s  for a long time and it is expensive by itself. Yuck, no other scenarios.

In all honesty, this morning felt like one of those moments where it’s too soon to go back, but I can’t figure out how this is going to work. The enormity of the task seems too big. My sinuses were killing me (I’ve reacquired allergies out here apparently), I had to say goodbye to my wife, and as we walked to the car I realized that I hadn’t moved the car on street cleaning day for a $68 ticket.

This whole thing kind of zapped my energy for my first improv class out here. I’m taking classes at Upright Citizen’s Brigade. We met in a small room nearish my home here. Improv is all about being in the moment, so it was nice to jump out of my head. The class was pretty basic, as I think all of Level 1 will be, but it was refreshing to do something here where I know what I’m doing. It was really my first experience with that. I’m looking forward to getting to know people in my class and be in an improv community. (28 affirmation points)

No idea how this is going to turn out.

But, I’ll keep pressing forward.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 28. The Striving and the Rooting

  1. Jamie Cantrell

    Hang in there, Jeff. If it were easy, eveybody would do it.

  2. Geoff, my friend. Check this out!

    http://splitsider.com/2011/03/the-dan-harmon-school-of-comedy-writing/

    It’s about how [creator of Community] Dan Harmon tells a story. Every time.

  3. Hang in there, Jeff.

    BTW I fell asleep with the TV on the other night. When I woke up, you were gesticulating excitedly about heating and air, I think. Or something. I wasn’t quite sure, but it was nice to see you that happy.

    Keep it up, sir.

  4. It could be worse. You could be trying to figure out how to add 143 units to August. Yes my friend 143. I wish I were funnier.

Leave a Reply

