Day 30. Starbucks Endurance

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Well, I’ve done it. I came out here to accomplish what I set out to accomplish. It took a lot of work, but it paid off. Indeed, I have set a new personal record for the amount of time spent in a Starbucks in one day. Today, I was at the Starbucks near my house on Melrose for  nine and a half hours. Not many people can endure that and live to tell it, let alone blog it.

When I moved to Springfield to be with Michelle once upon a time, I spent a lot of time at the local coffee shop, the Mudhouse, but that was child’s play. Today, it was all so I could work on my reel. An actor’s reel is essentially their video resume, and I was told I needed to revamp what I had. I’m okay at editing video, but it takes me longer and I get really picky when I get into something.

I doubt that many people have gone through the epic saga of surviving a Starbucks for that long and told their story, so I will enlighten you.

Here are my observations of spending most of my day in a Starbucks:

-In a Hollywood Starbucks you need to be concerned with people stealing your things if you leave the table, so I limited my bathroom breaks to two by not eating, not drinking and determined denial.

-I was ecstatic to see that I had outlasted the homeless guy, but it turns out he just disappeared for awhile. He was there when I left.

-I’ve touched on this before, but the number of good looking people in that Starbucks is out of this world. I felt like I was at a bank teller convention.

– If a man approaches you and asks you to look him up on the internet, don’t. Don’t.

-No matter what coffee shop you go to there will be a group of teenagers who have no understanding of coffee shop volume etiquette. I don’t care what Taylor was wearing to the Sadie Hawkins dance…yes, they were teenagers from the ’50s.

-If you’re going to be in Starbucks for nine plus hours, take a couple of “phone calls” so as to tell the baristas, “Yes, I have relationships.”

-You know that person you keep accidentally making eye contact with when you both stare into space thinking? To spice up your day you might try making a face, or flipping them the bird.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 30. Starbucks Endurance

  1. Pilgrim

    In the old days we called that loitering. I knew the homeless guy would win. Much more experience at that sort of thing.

  2. Michelle

    What endurance! What strength! What amazing butt muscles!

  3. Shannon

    Wow! Your adventures in LA are CA-RAZY!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

