Day 31. Uncertainty the Friend

Thursday, March 24, 2011

I’ve often looked back at various difficult, uncertain stretches in my life and thought, “If I only knew what was around the corner in just a short amount of time I wouldn’t have worried so much.” That’s what’s great about retrospective, you know what is coming. It’s tougher when you’re experiencing the uncertainty. But, why does uncertainty have to be a bad thing? I don’t think it’s inherently bad.

This morning was one of those, “Damn, what am I doing?!” mornings. I haven’t been able to sleep, I’ve got this sinus infection, and Michelle had had a tough day the day before. So, I took a shower. The shower didn’t have any magical qualities to it (unless you count Old Spice Swagger body wash as being magical). It seems like I can get stuck in a funk when I’m down and think I won’t be able to shake myself out of it. Then, I just do something, anything. I got rid of the emotional funk and the funky funk.

I went to a coffee shop that was not Starbucks, which felt nice for my anti-corporation leanings. It was a little independent place with cool looking people working on cool looking things. I was working on my commercial reel, among other things. You have your acting reel, then you have your commercial reel as well for getting work doing commercials. I hope to wow them.

I tried calling Central Casting about getting extra work, but I couldn’t get through. I thought it was going to be fairly easy, but apparently, it’s not. You call a recorded line that tells you what is available, then you call the casting director to follow up. It’s the second call where I get a busy signal. I guess there are too many people calling in (4 crapfirmation points). I found out that I’m able to delay my health insurance so it doesn’t start until May 25th, which is good, so we are aren’t doubling up on insurance for me, but not great because Michelle’s is more expensive (2 affirmation points).

I went to a show at UCB. It was a live talk show. I know. I was interested to see what it was like. As I sat down I asked everyone if they have ever heard of the Mystery Hour, when they said, “No,” I assured them that this had a lot to live up to. It was a very laid back show where the host interviewed a couple of comedian friends. It was very fun.

For now I will wrestle with the uncertainty and hope that it will like me and I will like it. Maybe we can be friends.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 31. Uncertainty the Friend

  1. I’m still praying for you man. Should we all “like” that clip on YouTube to help out? 🙂

  2. Joe Davola

    You should check out this agency:
    http://www.sandealessicasting.com/
    They got me on Catch Me if You Can and a few other movies/shows. They’re small but work with big-name producers. Not a bad way to line up extra gigs while you’re working on other things.

  3. jenn

    oh man i keep thinking of the many times i live in the unknown and how scary it has been, but your right, after those seasons often i find myself on the other side wondering why it was so scary. Thanks for writing about it.
    as i always say, i’m proud of you Jeff. Thank you for stepping out there and following your dreams and allowing us all a backstage pass to watching it unfold. i know that i know it’s going to be good.

  4. We lived in uncertainty for a year and three months Jeff but TODAY Bryon officially went full time at his new job for only $1 less an hour. He likes it there, they like him. They APPRECIATE him. It’s crazy that way. Hang in there and keep the faith. God wouldn’t have led you there for no good reason 😉

Leave a Reply

