Day 52. You Just Start

Thursday, April 15, 2011

I’ve had people ask me, “How do you come up with something to write about everyday?” This is a question I have often wondered as well in regards to other people that blog. My answer is, “I don’t know, I just start writing.”

It’s true. I just sit down and start and see what happens. Some days I know what I’m going to write about, like when I audition for a game show. However, most of the time I just write one sentence and decide what is going to come next as I go.

This is something I learned from improv. In a scene you just have to make a choice, step out and do it and see what happens from there. The more you trust that there is no such thing as making a mistake, and the more you trust your fellow improvisors the more comfortable it gets and the better the scene goes.

I suppose I’m doing the same thing now with this move. I’ve rarely done that on a life level, but here I am.

I’m just stepping out and hoping that the next step gets filled in.

I think I learned a lot about trust from improv. It’s like kindness. If you’ve repeatedly experienced kindness in little ways, it’s easy to give out kindness in bigger ways to others. I’m hoping my little experiences with trust turn into trusting in big ways.

Today, I had lunch with a friend of a friend. Well, he’s the friend of my grandma’s cousin’s daughter, who I have yet to meet in person. We’re related in some way. My lunch companion, Paul is a really great guy who has made most of his living as a voice actor. The voice acting world is fascinating. I guess I knew of it, but it is interesting to learn about the details of it. Paul once had to do voice over work for a Sylvester Stallone movie. The big tough actor they had hired to play a helicopter pilot had too high of a voice, so they hired Paul to dub his voice over the pilot. He had to match his words up exactly with the actor’s mouth movements. See? Fascinating.

From there I went to a nearby casting place that casts extras. The one I’m currently hooked up with is impossible to get through to. I arrived at the second floor small office of this place. I walked in awkwardly (which, by the way, I’ve perfected).

The man inside looks at me.

Jeff: Hey, I’m here to register as an extra.

Man: Sorry, we shut the registration down.

Jeff: Oh, dang it.

Man: Yeah, we register until 3:00

Jeff: Okay. It’s 3:10

Man: Yep

Jeff: So…

Man:

Jeff: Okay, I’ll come back next week.

Later, I went to a birthday party for my friend, Evan, in Santa Monica. I got a cheeseburger with macaroni and cheese on it. So, yeah, it was a crazy party. I platonically flirted with a couple of guys. I don’t know if it will happen, but I hope to get to second base (hanging out) with one of them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

