Day 53. Look Out for the Pit of Tar

Friday, April 16, 2011

Tens of thousands of years ago, many large prehistoric animals wandered the West Coast of North America. There were mammoths, American lions, American camels, and many other animals. They would stop and drink from large ponds on their way. An unfortunate few wandered into ponds and couldn’t make their way out. Under the surface of the water was tar. They were stuck. Eventually, they would die in that spot. The area where they died would eventually become known as the La Brea Tar Pits. They are located in central Los Angeles with buildings and city life all around them, while the bones of the mammoths lie beneath.

Today, I did the modern equivalent.

Like so many other beasts of my species, I wandered into a coffee shop in search of a drink and wi-fi, only to be bogged down, stuck for hours. Eventually, I escaped, however.

Today, I went to my favorite coffee shop. No, it’s not the Beautiful Starbucks, although I would say that is second. It’s a little independent place where the food is cheaper, and is local, called Buzz Cafe. I go there when I don’t feel the need to be surrounded by pure hotness. From there I rode my bike down to the La Brea Tar Pits. They’re just down the street. It is strange to be so near to something my 8 year old self would have completely freaked out for.

After that I made my way to yet another movie screening. This one was way cooler. I was invited by my friend, Ben. This one was cooler because we did not see the finished product, and there were only about 15 of us. We were in this small room, with an editing bay. The guy pressed play on his computer screen from the project in his editing software and it went to the TV screen. Beforehand, the director had warned us that this is their first time showing it and not all of the CGI was finished. This made it way cooler because in some parts you could see the actor just in front of a green screen. It made me realize how much work goes into each scene. Then they asked for our honest feedback. One guy talked the whole time, he seemed to think he really knew what he was talking about. He’s the mammoth who would have told his friends who are stuck in the tar pits what they should have done differently. “Hey guys, that’s definitely tar! You shouldn’t have gone in there. You shoulda just put a toe in first and checked it out like I’m doing!”

I picked up my friend, Josh, from the airport. He’s staying here for the weekend. We went to a corner pub for awhile. Chris Kattan was there too. The end.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 53. Look Out for the Pit of Tar

  1. My tar pit used to be called Thrifty Nickel. I thought I would NEVER get out of there. I did. Whew!

  2. Andy Walser

    Mango?!?!

Leave a Reply

