Day 58. Say Anything in High Fidelity

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

I had an audition today on USC’s campus. It was for a student short. It’s not too big of a deal, but I’ve heard people say to do student films because eventually those students will be players in the entertainment industry. The USC campus is beautiful and I spent a lot of time walking around afterwards. The project the student is working on is an assignment for a class where they have to recreate a scene they haven’t seen before from a movie.

He chose a deleted scene from High Fidelity, a classic movie starring John Cusack.

I feel like I have a chance.

I’ve played John Cusack before.

When Michelle first came to visit me before we started dating, I took a chance. We had met at a camp two months earlier and she was visiting from Missouri to Traer, the small town in Iowa I was living in. I asked around and found out that it cost $35 to rent out the movie theater on the main street, so I got it out for us. We had the whole theater to ourselves as we watched Say Anything, another classic John Cusack movie. It was wonderful. It was an empty theater with just the two of us…and a high school kid running the projector.

As I recently mentioned, I was not a ladies man at this point at all. I reference, “at this point” to make you think I was at some other point. Keep that assumption. This was a big deal for me, I had never been bold with a girl before this at all. I don’t know why I chose to do it with Michelle, but there has always been something about her that makes me want to do those things.

Fast forward 4 1/2 years. I’m living in Springfield, MO, having chased Michelle there (another bold move). I’ve decided that I want to marry her and since I’m obsessed with surprises, so she has no idea. We never had the window shopping trips to jewelry stores or had conversations about getting married. Combine that with the fact that we had been dating a long time, I owed her a good proposal.

There was a new independent movie theater in town called the Moxie. I called them up and rented the theater for a night in early December. I got the ring, now I just had to stay quiet until the night came. This proved to be difficult when her best friend got engaged like ten days prior to my proposal. I have still not forgiven the proposer. I had to deal with a crying girlfriend in my kitchen while the ring was four feet away in a drawer.

Eventually, the night came and we watched Say Anything in an empty theater, just the two of us…and two twenty somethings running the projector. The movie is 3/4 of the way through when it gets to the iconic scene where John Cusack is outside the girl’s window holding a boom box that is playing “In Your Eyes” by Peter Gabriel. He’s wearing a trenchcoat, dark t-shirt, dark pants, and white high tops standing in front of a car.

The scene shows him outside, then cuts to her inside, and then cuts back outside, only this time, on this night, in this version of the movie, the person now holding up the boom box in the movie is me wearing the trenchcoat, dark t-shirt, dark pants, and white high tops standing in front of my car.

Right before she looks at me to figure out what is going on, the words, “Michelle will you marry me?” come on the screen. Michelle freaks out screaming running up and down the aisles. I give John Cusack a mental high five and Michelle a kiss.

So, yeah, I can play John Cusack.

I pick that girl up from the airport in the morning.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Day 58. Say Anything in High Fidelity

  1. Dan

    oh, and this giant guy helped film and edit that iconic switcheroo of a scene. that was pretty cool too.

    😉 glad you get to see your lady!

  2. That is seriously freakin’ awesome dude.

  3. Rick Parks

    Surprises are great and that’s probably the best I ever heard. Great story.

  4. Tracy S.

    Now I always picture you holding a boom box when I hear that song! I hope you are around to help Tyler out some day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

