Day 70. Tidbits about Tidbits

Monday, May 2, 2011

I’ve had two short posts in a row. So, my power adapter is now working again. I’m back. I’m rocking out in the Beautiful Starbucks. Since my last two posts were short, I’m going to try to make this post especially long, funny, poignant, and informative. Get ready.

Random tidbits

-Sunday, I had an audition for the role of a talk show host for a student’s art project. I know how to do that. I woke up and discovered that the audition I thought was at UCLA, nearby, was actually at UC-Irvine, and hour and a half away. I drove all the way there, walked in, and immediately auditioned, and walked out. I was there for four minutes. I didn’t want to just drive back so quickly, so I stopped in a sports bar to watch the end of the Celtics game. Boo Heat. It was a strangely friendly bar with just regulars sitting at the bar. They all introduced themselves to me and then made fun of me for carrying a hiking book to the bar. I got one guy’s business card, so my platonic flirting was really working.

-I couldn’t find a good place to hike, so I instead I went for a barefoot run on the beach at Laguna Beach, then I sat on the beach and read.

-I’m reading an awesome book that my friend, Sarah, gave me before I left. It’s called I’m Dying Up Here. It’s about the golden age of stand up comedy in LA in the late ’70s, when guys like Jay Leno, David Letterman, Richard Lewis, Richard Pryor, etc were all friends and performing together at The Comedy Store. It is especially fascinating for me because I’m performing there on Thursday night. I had a stressful dream about it last night.

-I found out yesterday, that I got the role of Late Night Talk Show host for the thing I auditioned for at UC-Irvine on Sunday. It’s just a one time art project sort of deal. I’ve gotten two roles so far out of seven auditions. I think that’s pretty good, even if they are both student projects.

-I shaved my neck hairs.

-Last night before I went to bed, I set an alarm for 4:30 a.m. so I could call Michelle before she made it to work. I knew that I wouldn’t be able to say much because my coherence is lacking at that time of day. But, she was excited by it, because it was unexpected. I think I was probably sleep drooling while I talked to her. She has low standards with me.

-I went to a Cubs/Dodgers game last night. I’m a lifelong Cubs fan, so I correctly guessed that they would lose. It is really cool to go about my day and then go to a baseball game. In the past, I’ve always had to drive three hours to get to a game. This felt so casual.

-The roller coaster of this adventure continues. My mood for each post I make depends on the hour. It’s really silly, but true. My situation doesn’t change that much, so it’s mostly about if I’m feeling optimistic or pessimistic about the same situation. It is really creating a lot of self reflection, some of it good and healthy, and some of it is just overanalysis.

-I had improv class yesterday. It is such a bright spot for me. My classmates are great. Most of them are coming to my stand up show on Thursday. Good people. Plus, improv is all about being in the moment, so in the three hour class, all the other worries kind of go away.

-I found a product I had never heard of yesterday. Toasted Bread. This is an example of an industry plum out of ideas. “Guys, we’ve run out of ideas since we started slicing it. What are other things people like to do with bread, that we can do for them?” “Sir, sometimes I leave the bread out for hours and it gets crusty.” “Perfect! We’ll call it ‘Toasted.'” Or, it’s for the Amish who have always wished.

-I ran into a guy I know. This always disorients me here, it’s probably happened three times. It takes me awhile to accept the reality.

-I had a friend ask me if the pictures I post on here are ones that I find on the internet, or ones that I take myself. I take them, baby. I was flattered that she asked. I’ve only ever had one picture that I didn’t take and that was a few days ago when I put up a picture of a fluffy Bichon Frise dog.

-My grandma has a new post on her blog. You should check it out. It’s about technology.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 70. Tidbits about Tidbits

  1. Julie

    The best part about the toasted bread is that the brand name is Bimbo.

  2. Michelle

    two things:
    1) you have a good eye for pictures, always have. 🙂
    2) waking up at 4:30am to wish me a good day was the best part about my week so far. I love you!

Leave a Reply

