Day 74. Becoming a Man

Friday, May 6, 2011

Towards the end of my freshman year of high school the blonde patches of peach fuzz and wispy mustache hair was starting to show too much. I knew it was time. I knew I needed to start shaving. Even then I had a sense that this was one of those becoming a man moments. For some reason I was nervous to bring it up with my dad, even though he was the one who was there for all my growing up moments up to that point. From my first day of school, to my little league baseball games, to my bahmitzah. We’re not Jewish, I feel like I shouldn’t have had one. The point is, he was there.

I mustered up the courage and walked into his bedroom one night as he was reading the paper.

I started in nervously.”Dad, I think it’s time for me to shave. Will you show me how?”

My dad replied, “Nah, you don’t need to.”

I turned around.

Apparently, I was not yet on the verge of manhood.

Dejected, but determined, I went to the next best thing, my older sister. She’d never shaved a face, but she had shaved her legs, which consists of a greater amount of square inches, so she would know what she was doing. She agreed, and that night I learned to shave, not from my dad, but from my sister. The bonus is that, unlike other men, I know how to shave the difficult ankle area.

This morning I got ready for my first callback audition for an insurance company. I chronicled the first audition earlier. A half hour before the audition, I showered, Neti Potted, and shaved. I managed to cut myself shaving in three places. I put toilet paper patches on them and continued getting ready. When I was waiting for the audition I noticed that I still had bloody spots on my face, but there was now nothing I could do about it.

The audition went pretty well, I said the lines and tried to be charming. I explained to them the bloody spots and they didn’t seem to think it was as funny as me.

The rest of the day was a perfect sort of adventure day for me. I rode my bike to the subway station and on the way passed by the Future of Late Night I wrote about a few weeks ago. The Future of Late Night rides the bus. At this LA Casting networking event, which was a waste of time, I talked to two guys and I have strangely run into both of them now.

From the subway, I rode my bike to Olvera Street in downtown LA. Olvera Street is the original part of the city. When it was Spanish territory the king of Spain had 11 families from Mexico come up to settle the land around the turn of the 19th century. You didn’t know LA history went back so far did you? It is a very cool area with an old Catholic church, shops, and old buildings.

Right beyond there is Chinatown, so I rode my bike there. I continued on to Echo Park which is a mix of Hispanic families and hipsters. I got back on the subway and then rode home getting back after dark.

Riding my bike everywhere made me feel like a kid in the summer.

Shaving this morning made me feel like a man.

Shaving poorly made me feel like a man who learned to shave from his sister.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 74. Becoming a Man

  1. Cari

    Three places!!! I taught you better than that young lad!!!!

  2. Sorry I’ve been slacking in reading and commenting on your blog. I am catching up tonight, after having spent a fun evening w/ your wife and Sarah. I enjoy reading about your adventures. This one made me giggle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

