Day 119. Three Job Interviews

Monday, June 20, 2011

[I wrote today’s article over on Fair City News. It will make sense to Sprinfieldians, but probably not to others.]

I have three job interviews this week. I have had one the previous four months.

The first one is on Wednesday and is for a retail store called Ben Sherman. I’ve looked them up online and they look very British and very hipster-preppy. Michelle is going to help dress me for it so I look like I know what I’m talking about. Michelle does not approve of my plan to use a fake British accent during my interview. Since it’s a British clothing store, I think it can only help my chances.

Interviewer: Jeff, what skills do you think will help you in this job?

Jeff: Well, Guvna! I think it’s time for a spot of tea! Cheerio. Chim-chiminey, chim-chiminey, chim-chim-chabob, I know what I want, what I want is a job.

It’s also a group interview, which makes me really excited. Not to actually go through with it, but so I can report back the experience on my blog.

I have one on Sunday for a staff writer position with a Hollywood magazine. This one intrigues me, but I also think it might be full time, which I’m not that interested in right now.

On Monday, I have one at an Apple store that my friend, Jeremiah, helped hook me up with. As my Mac friends can attest, I’m great with a Mac. Let me rephrase that, “I’m great at asking them questions about how to use my Mac.” Actually, I use a Mac and an iPhone, so I’m not completely ignorant.

I have an audition on Thursday as a host for an industrial about how to install a GPS antennae.

Tonight, Michelle and Ross and I saw the most impressive improv show I’ve ever seen, and I’ve seen a ton. iO-West had a United States of Improv tournament where people from different states formed teams. So, there was a New York team made up of New Yorkers, etc. The team that won was from North Dakota…with one guy. He won the whole thing doing one man improv. His reward was a show on Monday nights for a month.

It was unbelievable. He had a guy playing keyboards and it was half musical. It was funny, had a coherent storyline, and was entertaining.

So impressive.

I hope to be half that impressive in trying to convince Ben Sherman I can sell really tight clothes. “Oh, love, you’ll look bloody lovely in this shirt eating bangers and mash!”

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Day 119. Three Job Interviews

  1. Brian K

    Statements I have made at a Ben Sherman store:

    “I like the furniture in here.”
    “I’m sorry, I don’t know how it was folded to begin with.”
    “Do you have anything larger than an extra large?”

  2. Just remember…to fix an Apple product turn it off and then back on. Or hold down the home key and the power button. Otherwise find a nail gun and a wall cause it’s not going to live long after the frustration from the user.

  3. Shannon

    Good luck w/ the interviews. I think using a British accent would be funny. My sis has 1/2 of Spfd thinking she’s British. Let us know how it goes.

  4. Laura Gwin

    Throw out some lines from Harry Potter. That would be cool in my book.

  5. Tracy

    Always follow your wife’s advice! (My husband has finally learned after 28 years…)

Leave a Reply

