Day 158. The Heavy Suitcase

Friday, July 29, 2011

Michelle mailed some of her things home so she wouldn’t have any extra weight charges for her luggage. She had a big suitcase on rollers and a smaller one for her carry on. The big one was too heavy for her to carry down the stairs, so she left it near the top of the stairs.

After I finished brushing my teeth, in my now half empty room, I grabbed her heavy suitcase and lugged it downstairs. It really was heavy. Michelle gave a goodbye hug to Debbie and we walked to the car. Again, I carried her heavy suitcase through the doorway and down the small steps to the sidewalk. We threw the small suitcase in the backseat and I swung the big one into the trunk.

As we drove to the airport we talked about the normal things we would talk about if we were just driving around town, attempting to make it seem like I wasn’t driving her to the airport. We snaked our way through the airport traffic and I pulled up to the drop off point. I popped the trunk while Michelle got out and grabbed the luggage from the back seat.

Reaching down I strained getting the heavy suitcase out of the trunk and put it on the sidewalk. We hugged for longer than you’re supposed to in the dropping off passengers parking. Then, we had to step away and Michelle was left with her small suitcase and the big one that was too heavy for her.

That’s what I was thinking about as I was waving driving away. Michelle was left to go with both suitcases, and one was too heavy for her.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 158. The Heavy Suitcase

Leave a Reply

