Day 188. Hollywood Signs and Coyotes

Sunday, August 28, 2011

I’ve only got a few minutes to write this one because I’ve got to get to work. I’m just going to write whatever flows out of my head. I have to set alarms now, that is no fun. This morning the woman in the house right next to me had her Blackberry alarm going off for about an hour starting at 5 am. Yuck.

I hiked up to the Hollywood sign today. It taught me two things. Hey, what a fun hike, and, I’m a wuss.

Let’s join the action.

I’m walking up  the trail. When I say trail, it is actually a wide thing that one car could rive on. There are people around in some places, and in others, not so much. I’m walking, I’ve got my Camel Bak on, I’ve got my headphones in, and I’m listening to some Iron and Wine. I round a corner and I walk about ten yards, when right in front of me is a coyote pooping in the road. We look at each other. I’ve never encountered a coyote before. All I know is that they’re supposed to run away when they see people.

Not this one.

The thing starts trotting toward me, so I start walking briskly back from where I came. I keep an eye on it monitoring it’s distance behind me. I look and another one has emerged from the brush and is coming my way as well. I start to wonder, “Do they hunt in packs? Am I a dead man? I start walking faster without looking hurried. It’s kind of like when you’re in college and you want to catch up to your crush while you’re walking behind them on campus. You want to hurry, but you don’t want to seem like you’re hurrying. Only, in this scenario, I’m the chasee, not the chaser, and the chaser wasn’t going to strike up an awkward conversation, he was going to strike up an awkward gnawing of my thigh.

I get around the corner where they can’t see me an I start running. I get a little ways to where the trail meets up with another one and there is a couple walking up.

Man: Is this the way up to the Hollywood sign?

Me: Yes, but I just ran into a couple of coyotes, and I don’t know what you do with coyotes.

Man: Oh yeah, I don’t know.

The coyotes come around the corner.

Woman: Usually they just run away.

Me: That’s what I thought.

Man: I’ll just start going toward them to see if they run away.

Me: I’m glad there’s a man around.

He starts walking toward them and, sure enough, they run away.

Me: Don’t tell anyone about this, I don’t want it to hurt my street cred.

Why were they afraid of him, and not me? Even coyotes know I’m a wuss. I followed them up the rest of the way and made it to the Hollywood sign. It was pretty cool. It’s fenced off and there are cameras, so you can’t get real close, but it was still very cool. The letters are huge. I stayed for awhile. Fun fact: Did you know they were originally constructed and put on the hill as an advertisement for a nearby planned subdivision called Hollywoodland?

I made it home without anymore coyote confrontations, Facetimed with Michelle for a bit, which is so much better than phone. Then, I made it to my friend, Gio’s, party. He’s going away back home to Greece for six weeks. He has a new boy in his life he’s excited about, I gave him my approval. For a diversity geek, like myself, I loved it. At one point, I was talking to people from Greece, Lebanon, India, and Philadelphia, all at the same time.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 188. Hollywood Signs and Coyotes

  1. Pilgrim

    How did you met someone from Laclede County all the way in LA?

Leave a Reply

