Day 197. 10 Days on the Job

Tuesday, September 7, 2011

Since I am now about a week and a half in to my new job, I thought I would provide an update.

1. I know the answer to about 30-40% of the questions I get asked. Sometimes, I give 30-40% of an answer.

2. Since I don’t know many answers, when someone comes to me with a problem they are experiencing with their piece of technology, I have figured out that my role is empathizer.

Customer- “My phone keeps shutting off for no reason and I’m really frustrated.”

Jeff- “Oh man, that must be horrible. I’m sure it’s really frustrating. Let me find someone who knows things.”

Customer- “I’ve had this fixed a couple of times, but it’s still not working.”

Jeff- “Oh my gosh, that sounds maddening. Let’s get this fixed for real this time. Let me find someone who knows things.

3. You know when you go into a store where they have a product that you need, but you don’t know anything about it? You ask a question about it, and the employee gives you a long answer, but doesn’t seem to really answer the question. You don’t get it, so you ask the question again. You know how they give another long answer, without quite giving you the answer? It’s because they don’t know. It’s not that they misunderstood the question. It’s because they had this thought process: Ooh, I don’t know the answer, but I do know about things similar to that. I’ll just tell the customer what I do know, near the answer. I’ll also throw in the word, “jigowatt” occasionally to sound smart.

4. The amount of plastic surgery amongst customers is astounding. They don’t look younger, they just look different. It’s a look.

5. I had this encounter today with a customer. He was probably sixty, probably wealthy, had an undetermined accent.

Jeff: How can I help you?

Customer: I would like to get this phone.

Jeff: Okay, great, there are a few options, do you know which one you want?

Customer: I would like this phone, but I don’t want it to work.

Jeff: Don’t want it to work? What do you plan on using it for?

Customer: I just want it to look at…for…decoration.

Jeff: Okay.

Customer: I have one I bought last week. I just want this one for decoration.

Jeff: Okay, your two choices are to buy it for $650 and it won’t work, or you can get it for $200 with a service plan with a wireless carrier.

Customer: But I don’t want it to work.

Jeff: I understand that.

Customer: I would like to get it for $200, but not pay the wireless carrier.

Jeff: That is not an option. If I sell it to you for $200, we can’t have you leave the store until you set up your plan with the wireless carrier, it’s just how it works.

Customer: And how much is the other one without the plan?

Jeff: $650

Customer: No, that is too much. I would just like the one for $200 without the plan.

Jeff: No.

6. There are so many dogs who come into the store with owners. I don’t know what the in store etiquette is as far as if I can pet the dogs without permission. Also, this may sound unsophisticated, but where I come from dogs have use of their legs. They can walk. Based on the number of dogs I see carried here, they must not be able to walk, because surely they would.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 197. 10 Days on the Job

  1. I loved the exchange with the guy for the phone. đŸ™‚ I’ve been there way too many times with other people.

  2. Those looks like dogs, but they are actually just accessories. Like anklets… of 2011.

Leave a Reply

