Day 205. We Create Street Art

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Michelle and I have fallen in love with street art in LA. It’s everywhere. A lot of the pictures I have posted on here are of street art I’ve encountered. We both went to a great street art exhibit at the MOCA and loved it. I think of street art being different from just graffiti. I think street art is more for the enjoyment of people seeing it, and graffiti is more for the purpose of the person creating it.

At some point a long time ago we wanted to make it a tradition that on our anniversary we would work on some art project together. We’ve rarely done that. But, awhile ago when we were talking about street art I said, “Hey, we’ve always wanted to paint something on that blank wall on the outside of the shed, maybe we should do that.”

Last night I was talking to a friend and mentioned the shed wall, and before I got off the phone, Michelle had gotten spray paint and headlamps together. So, at 10 pm, we started creating our masterpiece. We felt like real street artists because we did it under the cover of darkness.

I’ve got to say, I’m pretty happy with it. It’s not embarrassing. 

Also, today, Grant, who is representing the Mystery Hour as a traveling show called me. Last week, he went to a conference for performing arts centers. It’s a conference where the people representing traveling acts and the performing arts centers meet up trying to see what shows would be a good fit for their venues. Anyway, he said a lot of people were really interested in The Mystery Hour. That would be awesome. We’ll see what happens next.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 205. We Create Street Art

  1. Rick Parks

    What a great tradition, who does that? Even if you don’t always do it, I think that is cool.

Leave a Reply

