Day 211. Jester from a Different Ancestor

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

I hear a lot of things with my last name. People rarely know how to pronounce it right. 

How-ton

Huff-ton

Hue-ton

Hoo-ton

Never before have I ever heard someone say, “I have the same last name as you.” It did today, though. I joined a little community group at church. When looking through the options of groups listed on the church website, there were four that met in Hollywood. I didn’t know which one to choose, until I saw the one headed up by the guy with the last name, Houghton. I’ve never personally met another Houghton that I wasn’t related to.

I walked in and Tom, the brother from a different mother said, “So, how do you pronounce it?”

I said, “Ho-ton,” the proper pronunciation. “And you?”

He replied, “How-ton.”

Ooh, it hurts a bit, but How-ton is my favorite mispronunciation. In fact it’s the only one that I don’t correct. We talked for awhile after the meeting. After trying to convince him that he pronounced his own name wrong was when things got eerie.

He grew up in Omaha, which is on the border with Iowa, where I’m from. My Houghton lineage is from a small town called Red Oak, which is 45 minutes away from Omaha. So, I asked if his grandparents are from the area, which would make the chance of being related great. Nope they aren’t from there originally.

He explained to me that they’re from Springfield, MO.

If that doesn’t mean anything to you, that is because you don’t know that I moved from Springfield to LA. My house and wife are in Springfield.

What? How is this possible?

Anyway, I had a good time, and met some good people.

I look forward to exploring more connections with this jester from a different ancestor.

I also had an audition today, for a commercial. Seriously, people, it has been awhile since I had an audition. There were no sides, or script to get to know. They guy came out and told me that he wanted us to just come in and sell them something, anything. The commercial revolved around a business professional in a board room. I thought, “What can I possibly try to sell them?” Then I remembered that I used to speak several times a week to groups about one subject, blood donation. I went in there and sold them on the idea of donating blood. I was good. When I was done they said, “Okay, now sell us these sunglasses.” Okay. I did what I could. It was nice to remember that I like auditioning. It was fun.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 211. Jester from a Different Ancestor

  1. And the family continues to grow! 🙂
    Congrats on the audition.
    Sorry I’ve been a bad friend/fan lately, and haven’t kept up w/ reading & commenting. You’re in my thoughts, though.

  2. Scott

    man from a different plan (I feel like this one only works if one of your parents didn’t mean to get pregnant.)
    hooligan from a different origin
    relation from a different gestation

Leave a Reply

