Day 220. Mountains and Oceans and Sunsets and Mooching

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Every day I have off, I want to do something big. However, doing something big requires forethought and planning, which is not one of my specialties. I want to hike to the top of Mt. Baldy, which is one of the highest peaks around here. When I go to bed I think, I’ll get up early and see how I feel. No. That doesn’t work, it never does. You know what I want to do when I wake up early? I want to go back to bed, and nothing else. In the future, I need to absolutely plan the night before.

But, it still ended up pretty good. I went to Malibu and hiked the mountains right by the ocean. There wasn’t any tree cover, I didn’t peak anything really challenging, but it was a good time. Then, on the way down, the sun was setting. It was setting right about where the mountain and the water meet on the horizon. I’ve got to say, it was gorgeous. I ran the rest of the way down, because it’s way easier than running up, and because I wanted to get to the beach before it was totally dark.

I got to my car and threw my stuff in, then I crossed the PCH and got to the beach. I took my shirt and shoes off and waded into the water. The sun was down, but the sky was still orange. Cars were driving on the PCH around a curve next to the mountain with their headlights on. There was a sliver of a moon. There were big boats on the horizon with their lights on. The ocean was glassy. So, I played in the water for awhile. I’m beginning to love the ocean.

To be honest, I tend to think about what I’m missing out on a lot. I think it is a cousin to being driven, always trying to strive for something more. I’ve been thinking about what I’ve been missing out on, and what I more I could be doing here. But, in that moment, I had his strong sense of enjoying the moment, enjoying what I have. How cheesy does that sound? I don’t care, it happened.

The beach I was on was a campground beach. I’ve never seen a campground beach before. Where I come from you camp in the woods. There was only one set up near me, but it was awesome. They had one of those big tents with different wings to it. There was the main area, and on either side, what I can only assume was the library and solarium. Then, they had a food sort of tent, and a thin upright, tall tent, that I’m guessing was a shower, or port a potty tent, but not both.

I put my shirt and my shoes back on and told myself, “I’m going to get those people to invite me to have dinner with them.” How cool of a story would it be to eat dinner with a random couple camping on the beach? So, I took my wet self up the rocks to their site. A woman was out amongst the food. Out of the darkness I said, “Hi, I don’t mean to intrude, but I’m from the Midwest, and we camp in the woods, I’ve never seen beach camping.” Great opening line. The woman was nice, and as we talked, I just kept saying what a cool set up they have, and how amazing it is that they can just eat on the beach. I tried to be really charming. She was nice, but I got no invitation to eat, only a “Welp, we’re going to play cards now.” Then I walked away.

I did learn about beach camping, though. I want to do it. I must do it.

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Update, Funny, Poignant, Uncategorized

One response to “Day 220. Mountains and Oceans and Sunsets and Mooching

  1. I agree with what you said about feeling like you’re missing out on things. I, too, seem to constantly strive for more…or at least I used to…or at least I’m trying not to anymore. This pursuit of something better has often taken me far from friends, family, and a girlfriend. It’s lead to some unfortunate consequences, so in order fix things I’ve recently come to think of this personality trait as a personality fault. Not everyone may consider it a fault, but I do, and this new way of thinking has helped me find a little peace. Don’t get me wrong, I’m proud of being a driven person, but always looking toward the future has caused me to miss some big opportunities in the present. There’s a time for striving, exploring, and risking. Then there’s a time for relaxing, giving thanks, and appreciating what you have. I think that’s where I am in life right now, or at least that’s where I’m trying to exist. It’s hard to ignore the urge to travel, to drop it all in search of something great, because that’s a big part of who I am. It’s tough straddling the line between who I am and who I want to be. You’d think they’d be the same person. Maybe they will be eventually.

Leave a Reply

