Day 233. Michael Caine, Sinuses, Sleep, Tyra Banks, 8+

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

My friend, Jeremiah, and I started doing Michael Caine impressions to each other to be funny. Jeremiah’s isn’t too bad, but mine sounds like a surprised Cockney man mixed with the queen getting goosed. It’s not good, and it’s not really supposed to be good either. Today, at work, I got a good lesson in my Michael Caine impression from Michael Caine himself. He had a printer question. It took everything I had to not try to impersonate him back to himself.

I also went to a couple of improv shows last night, which was nice, because I haven’t been for awhile, but now that I’m taking classes, they’re free.

I’m writing this on a full night’s sleep. As I mentioned long, long, ago, I haven’t been able to sleep in since I arrived in LA. I have only slept in one other time, when Michelle was here. Combined with the fact that, like a 14 year old home alone for the weekend, I can’t get myself to go to sleep at a decent hour, I’m often really tired. I started waking up this morning and as I do every morning, I thought, “Dang it, time to roll over and look at the clock and be disappointed.” Not today! It was 10:45. I did it! I thrust my fist into the air above my bed in victory.

The other thing that hurts my sleep is the fact that I’ve had a sinus infection for most of the time I’ve been here. Most of the time I’m all stuffy and face-achy. It’s how things used to be for me, but I had sinus surgery five years ago, and since then my sinuses have been mostly great. I usually just get one, maybe two sinus infections in a year. This year, I’ve been on antibiotics three times (probably should have been more), and felt non sinus infectiony for about three weeks, a week after getting off antibiotics each time. It’s really wearing on me. It’s just too bad that the time I decide to come out here is the time that my health is worse than it’s been in several years, and I can’t afford to go to the doctor. Have I mentioned that I hate our health care system? Yes? Good. I’m pretty sure I need to have a CAT scan, as in the past, but there’s no way I can shell that out with a $5,000 deductible. I’ve always intellectually empathized with people without much money, and without any health insurance, or without good health insurance, now I understand it. And, really, I don’t have it that bad at all in comparison with millions of more people.

Tyra Banks came in the store the other day, I wasn’t on the floor, but I went out to look at her. I didn’t even notice my sinuses in that moment.

Oh yeah, and Jeff Garlin was in yesterday. I could still feel my sinuses.

Double oh yeah, Elliot Yamin, a former American Idol contestant was in yesterday. My sinuses started to hurt.

Here is a crappy rap PSA about getting enough sleep:

3 Comments

Filed under Daily Update, Hollywood Life

3 responses to “Day 233. Michael Caine, Sinuses, Sleep, Tyra Banks, 8+

  1. Rick Parks

    Please don’t get a CAT scan. It could mess up that brilliant, scrambled, off every bodies wall, comedic mind of yours.

  2. Michelle

    Do a Michael Cain impersonation next time we talk please

  3. I had to watch 8+ for old times sake. Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

