Day 250. Halloween Pub Crawl

Saturday, October 29, 2011

I love Halloween.

When I was a kid we had a “dress up clothes” closet so we could do Halloweeny stuff year round. It was a small closet, but it was piled high with wigs, costumes, and my parents’ old clothes. We would often use items from there to dress up during other times of the year. One afternoon, I decided I would dress up as a door to door insurance salesman, not super creative, but believable. I got a big trench coat, a fedora, a shirt and tie, and my dad’s old briefcase. The topper was that I had my mom help me type some business cards. For the life of me, I can’t remember what my insurance salesman name was, but I wish I could. I recently found the wallet I used, which had a couple of business cards left in it. I remember going to my neighbor, Betty’s house in costume, in April.

I’ve envisioned telling that story to Terry Gross on Fresh Air when I become famous. That’s right, my fantasy is being on an NPR show. Hopefully, I would cry, Terry would ummm a lot, and I would end up sharing things I never shared before.

The point is I love Halloween so much that I tried to celebrate it other times of the year.

The last few years, my big Halloween tradition was to walk around downtown Springfield on the Saturday before Halloween and do man on the street interviews for The Mystery Hour. If you’re going to do man on the street interviews you hope for people to be unencumbered and loose, being in a costume and inebriated goes a long way towards making that happen.

Today, we watched an impossibly horrible Iowa football game, hung out for our friend, Gio’s, birthday, and hung out with our friends Heidi and Ben in their house that Michelle would like to annex for our own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Update, Funny, Stories

Leave a Reply

