Day 273. Minnesota, Washington DC, and Boris Yeltsin

Monday, November 21, 2011

So, how do I follow that up? If you missed my last post, I’m rolling up the tent and heading home in a couple of weeks. Believe it or not, I actually have a lot more to say on the matter and I will keep writing some new posts on things I’ve learned and other “amazing” insights.

Also, thanks for the awesome comments, I really treasure them.

I don’t feel like being particularly deep and insightful right now though.

Instead, let’s do some random tidbits.

-The standup set I did recently that was for a variety show was a really good time. Besides the guy popping and locking, the thing that excited me the most was that in between sets they would play a random song as the next act was getting set up. Between one of the acts I recognized a song and couldn’t place it. Then, I excitedly figured out that it was a Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin track, a band from the great city of Springfield, MO. I’m friends with a couple of the guys and I told everyone around me. In fact, it was the song used in To and From, the film I was in shot by good and talented friends in Springfield.

Yes, those were my real braces.

-My plan was to leave on Monday, December 5th by car back to Missouri. However, now, I’m going to take off on Tuesday, December 6th now. Why? On the 5th, I will be in Washington, D.C. doing an improv show with a group I’ve never met. Jeff Jenkins will occasionally fill in for a touring group when they need people. They were in a pinch and he couldn’t do it, so I’m going to do it. Sunday, I will do my showcase show at UCB for my class, then fly out early the next morning over Missouri to Washington D.C., meet the guy I’m doing the show with, do the show, fly back early the next morning over Missouri, and get in my car and start driving back toward Missouri. Im getting paid, and my flight’s paid for, so it was a no brainer.

-Grant, who has been representing the Mystery Hour called me the other day because there is a university in Minnesota who wants to bring the Mystery Hour in next fall. He’s just negotiating prices with them right now. How about that?

-At the fruit based electronics store I work at, we get a lot of foreigners in the store, which I love. The other day I was talking with a customer that had a strong Hispanic accent, and I needed to get his e-mail address. His last name was Navarro. “He said N, as in Nancy, A, as in Apple, and B, as in Bictor.” This made me chuckle to myself a lot. He was saying V in his head and Victor is definitely the right name to say to make it clear, but his V’s kept sounding like B’s every time he said it. Bictor.

-Yesterday, I wrote the long blog I posted about me leaving. It didn’t take as long as I would have guessed it to take because I have been working it out in my head for awhile now. I finished right in time for my improv class, hurried there only a few minutes late. That is the story of my life in that line right there, “hurried there only a few minutes late.” If I could just somehow start whatever I’m working on ten minutes earlier, I wouldn’t ever be late for anything again. That wouldn’t work though I’m afraid. Maybe if I woke up ten minutes earlier every day…

-I bought new sheets to replace the ones I’ve been sleeping in for several months. I’m a dirty sleeper.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 273. Minnesota, Washington DC, and Boris Yeltsin

  1. Dan

    they’re called “international customers”…

    đŸ˜‰

    so happy for you

  2. Nate

    Jenkins can’t do the show in D.C. because he’s doing something for The Arc of the Ozarks that night. I semi-suggested we ask him. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

