Day 295. Belongingness

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

You guys, I’m so far behind on this blog. I’ve decided that I want no part of thinking the past week. It has been kind of odd, this coming home thing. My life here before was filled with things. I had 40 hours of work, The Mystery Hour, So There I Was Storytelling Series, improv shows, being married, having friends, and lots of different things. What I used to know in Springfield was busyness. For now, I’ve got being married and having friends. It is different. I’m sure that soon enough, busyness will settle in and everything will be back to normal.

The people I know here are still the same people doing the same things, I just don’t quite fit as snuggly as before. I say that not because I’ve changed or anything, although I probably have, or that people here aren’t doing fun and exciting things, it’s more the belongingness factor. I extricated myself from belongingness, and now that I’m back I don’t immediately fit back into the same spots. Is belongingness as important as anything? It will come, I just don’t have a spot, I’m kind of floating.

I feel like I time traveled and experienced a lot of time passing, and I’ve come back to real life where no time as passed. I’ve had to get my parents together, had my mom kiss me, played guitar at prom, met my future self, used a self drying jacket and a hoverboard, had a pie pan save my life when a cowboy shot at me in front of my Irish ancestor. Then, I come home and most everything is the same, but Biff is washing my truck? It doesn’t quite gel.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 295. Belongingness

  1. Angie

    Well, cry me a river. So you went off and had some big adventure and now you come back and we are not as exciting as your la-te-da fancy pants friends in Holleewuds. Get over yourself. Our lives have changed. We may be in the same spot, but we have lived and died a lot while you were gone. Don’t get me wrong, I am personal beyond happy that you are back. My world is a funnier and happier place with you in it instead of me just reading about you living the dream. So, I am very selfishly happy you are back and I will try my best not to bore you hence forth. I have a spot saved for you near my spot.

  2. Haha @ Angie. Fancy Pants.
    I still love ya all the same. Let me know when we will be working Mystery back into full swing, I am excited.

  3. You may wonder, ‘How can I leave it all behind if I am just coming back to it? How can I make a new beginning if I simply return to the old?’ The answer lies in the return. You will not come back to the ‘same old thing.’ What you return to has changed because you have changed. Your perceptions will be altered. You will not incorporate into the same body, status, or world you left behind. The river has been flowing while you were gone. Now it does not look like the same river. [The Book of the Vision Quest]

    – Steven Foster

Leave a Reply

