Day 326. Received an Honor

Friday, January 13, 2012

Did you know this blog is award winning? Well, it is now. 417 Magazine just awarded me as Best Expat Blogger. I think it is because of my profiles on Adam Vinatieri, Rodney Harrison, and Teddy Bruschi. That is a joke that would only make sense to football fans, and even they would not laugh at it. You see, those are guys who used to play for the Patriots, making them Ex-Pats. So, basically, I’ve taken an opportunity to write about being recognized as a good blogger to highlight my worst joke yet on here, and then type about it explaining the joke. I should stop, but I can’t. I mean, I’m not helping things by continuing to just type and type. I actually found out because someone congratulated me on Facebook, otherwise I don’t know how long it would have taken for me to see it. Weird, right? I mean, what if I never saw it. OMG, wouldn’t that just be CRZY? I’ve started typing in 14 year old girl text speak. I have to start a new paragraph. I can..do this…it’s so close now…just do it…

Here is what they wrote:

Best Expat Blogger
Jeff Houghton
About a year ago, 417-lander Jeff Houghton (whom you might have known from the Skinny Improv and his on-stage talk show The Mystery Hour) left southwest Missouri in his rearview mirror as he set off to Los Angeles to pursue acting. Throughout his journey, he blogged online at themysteryyear.com. We laughed hysterically when he described the different types of plastic surgery atrocities he’d see in L.A. We’d go “Awwww” when he wrote about how hard he and his wife worked to communicate from afar. And we rooted for him with gusto when he relayed his navigation through the trials and struggles of chasing his acting dream. Now, Houghton’s back in 417-land, and we can only hope he’ll keep his charmingly insightful blog going for our reading pleasure.

Here is the full article if you’re interested in other Best Of winners in Springfield, MO. The Skinny Improv won Best Belly Laugh for the severalth year in a row.

Will I milk this all I can? You are damn right I will. The award winning Mystery Year blog, I like the sound of it.

Waiter: Sir, I’ll take your order now.

Jeff: Yes, do you have anything on the menu that is award winning?

Waiter: I’m not sure.

Jeff: I only associate with award winning things now.

Waiter: Okay.

Jeff: Have you ever heard of the award winning Mystery Year blog?

Waiter: No

Jeff: Well, I have.

Waiter: You have pesto all over your teeth.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 326. Received an Honor

  1. Congrats! I am impressed that you blog nearly daily. An accomplishment in itself.

Leave a Reply

