Day 344. Footage of My Barcelonian Infomercial

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Infomercials, they’re everywhere. We’ve all seen them a million times. Did you know that a lot of them are filmed in Springfield, MO? It’s true. I’ve done a couple of them. In fact, I mentioned last week how I went in to shoot a new one. I’ve never been the guy enthusiastically shouting at the camera behind a kitchen island about the latest way to broast a chicken.

“Now, I know, you’re saying, ‘Jeff, you can’t possibly take a live chicken, kill, pluck, broast, and slice in under 3 minutes.’ Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha, I am saying you can, and I’m saying it because of the Fowl Torturer 8000. In under 3 minutes, you’ll have your family saying, ‘Hey! That’s juicy! Isn’t that the same chicken that was running in the yard just 3 minutes ago?’ Ha ha ha ha ha.”

I don’t think I’m cut out for that sustained enthusiasm. My dreams are more realistic. I want to be the guy that is fumbling around, confused, unable to figure out how to operate a pair of scissors. I want to be in black and white, and I want a big red X to appear on the screen.

Well, my dream almost came true in my latest infomercial for wireless headphones. I didn’t get the red X, but I was certainly the red X guy. But then, I tried on the headphones and my life was much, much better. The spot is below. I edited it down so it has just the parts with my “wife” and I. My wife is my friend, Sarah, and I just love, love, love her enthusiasm in her testimonial, mostly because I’ve never heard her speak with such enthusiasm, even about cats, and the girl loves cats. I hope I pulled off ignorance, exasperation, relief, and pure joy well. Plus, besides the testimonials, it is silent. Take that ‘The Artist.’

This will air in Barcelona. Gracias auriculares inalámbricos!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Day 344. Footage of My Barcelonian Infomercial

  1. Dave

    Having been in a few of these myself, I love seeing people I know in them. You were great, maybe one day we will get to be in one together.

  2. Mark Foster

    this definitely made my day.

  3. AWESOME!! Nice job to both of you! SJ, that was enthusiastic!

  4. Joan Houghton

    Rreally liked it, Jeff. Watched 3 times. Grandma Joan

  5. FM

    This seems kind of like self-parody, in other words, acting like an actor in a cheesy infomercial. I don’t see this particular ad leading to Hollywood stardom. That doesn’t mean it’s bad, though and you have to pay the bills somehow. I can respect someone who attempts a difficult career path.

Leave a Reply

