Day 353. This Blog Will Be Ending Soon…

Thursday, February 9, 2012

So, I’m getting closer to Day 365. That will be a year. Like most things that are big, it seems like it was just yesterday, and it seems like it was like 10 years ago. I was watching some videos of when I was leaving, and let me say, worrying about money as I am now, is way easier than preparing to move away from your wife. I’m glad I’m in this February.

So, here’s my plan: I’m going to stop blogging at Day 365.

I’m going to wrap up The Mystery Year. It will have been a year since I journeyed off to Los Angeles. You know what? Blogging every day is difficult when you’re closer back to real life. I threw my life up in the air a year ago, and I still haven’t put everything back together in a new way, but I’m busier than I was in LA.

I have four thoughts as I near the end:

1. I never would have thought I would go a year. Commitment is not my strong suit. I think it may say something about how I feel about writing.

2. I want to keep blogging, just not everyday. I may form another site that I keep up with twice a week or something. I just like the idea of tying the blog up neatly instead of fading out.

3. I have a couple of announcements possibly coming up, so I may just have to post a couple more times sometime soon. Intrigued?? No? How about now?

4. I would like to publish The Mystery Year as a book. I know there are websites that help you turn blogs into books, but I don’t know much about them. I also have zero experience in self publishing a book. Does anyone know anything along those lines? Or, maybe you, random reader, know a publishing company that is looking for a fantastic blog turned book that one, maybe two, handfuls of people will purchase.

I think it could work as a book. I would read it…all the time…in public…and then laugh and laugh so people ask me what I’m reading, and I could explain it to them…and how much it costs…and that I’m not the guy in it, just a big fan…who looks like the guy in it.

So, the clock is ticking, get new Mystery Year posts while you can. Oh, and tell all your friends that have blocked me from their Facebook news feeds, I’m almost done.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Day 353. This Blog Will Be Ending Soon…

  1. Andy Walser

    Are you going to be on the Appretice? Ive loved keeping up w your life via blog. Thanks buddy.

  2. Well Jeff, I have read you every day for a year. It was hard from this side too to share your triumphs and pain. But in the end you inspired me in several ways. For one, I wrote a novel like I always wanted to. I am just now going to bed after working on some edits of my first draft. It’s extremely gratifying. Secondly, I am trying to blog every day for a year this year as well. It’s a bitch. But if you don’t keep writing you’ll never improve, and you can’t ever publish a blank page. Unless you are Stephen King. He probably could. Thanks for the ride and sign me up for the next big thing 🙂

  3. Rick Parks

    I hope you keep blogging. I have enjoyed it very much. I am behind now because of life events, but I have them saved and every once in while I’ll rip off several in a row. This doesn’t make any comments I have very timely, but Oh well. Sign me up too for the next big thing

  4. I also have read this blog everyday and I will miss it. Keeping your 365 commitment was very impressive and I hope you find a way to get this published! Good luck and thank you again.

  5. Julie

    Check out Createspace.com – they work with Nanowrimo, and my neice published her book through them, so I know they are legit. You can then sell through them directly, and on Amazon. You retain copyright and can still sell to a publisher if the opportunity comes along.

Leave a Reply

