Day 365. One Year! The Mystery Year – The Film

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I’ve always loved documentaries. In fact, in a couple of weeks, Michelle and I will be going to a documentary film festival that we excitedly go to every year. I’ve always said it would be cool to make my own, but I lacked the skills, time, equipment, money, and focus. Then, I got some skills (Mac), got some equipment (iPhone), and became part of a story worthy of telling. I left home. I left my wife, dogs, friends, and job to pursue my dreams. Occasionally, as I went, I videotaped things, and took a lot of pictures.

Then, I decided that I wanted to actually put it all together in a short video. One of the things I learned in Hollywood was you say film, not video. Also, you say what you want to be, not what you currently are. So, let me rephrase that, I made a short film of our adventurous year because I’m a filmmaker.

Honestly, I spent more time than I would like to admit on this, and stayed up until an hour I don’t care to acknowledge, so I will have one more post after this one. I lacked any semblance of coherency when I was done making this film. This year was a giant leap, so I might as well make The Mystery Year a leap year.

The film is nearly fourteen minutes long. I made it for people to see, but mostly I want those people to be future Jeff and Michelle.

Enjoy.

Thank you for all the support.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Day 365. One Year! The Mystery Year – The Film

  1. Awesome job on the film, dude. You’ve certainly had an adventure that will never leave you the same. Thanks for taking us along with you.

  2. Amanda R.

    Oh wow, that was awesome! I loved it. đŸ™‚

  3. Two Kleenex viewing. Nice work.

  4. Beautiful video! Thanks for giving us the gift of allowing us to feel like we were with you.

  5. Kleenex Warning!! You’re gonna need a few of them!
    Seriously thought Jeff, that was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever watched. Your’re a wonderful man, with a great heart, and a brilliantly creative mind. I’m honored to call you a friend. May nothing but good ever come to you.

Leave a Reply

